Hi Chaotic bob
Regarding lost objects.. this is the story:
As you know objects can be deleted.
As you also know objects are linked to each other like doorways, hosted objects and the like
As you probably know by now, when an object is describe and the object it is linked to in some-way has been deleted then the description of 'lost object (id)' is shown instead of the objects name (which we now dont know as the object is deleted).
Now down to business.. if one or more of your objects has been deleted then it means that
a) they were left unlocked and someone deleted it
b) they were within an unlocked object which was deleted
c) repeat (b) all the way back to the open field
When an object is deleted, all within it are spewed forth into the rubbish bin, which in turn are unlocked and unlinked then deleted, spewing forth their contents until there is nothing left.
PS please lock this and leave it in the library for others to learn the truth.